Thursday 18 July 2019

Five in running for fans' top Player of the Year accolade

John Fallon

Five players are in contention to be the Connacht fans' Player of the Year, with the winner set to be announced at the annual awards function later this month.

Denis Buckley, Matt Healy, Robbie Henshaw, John Muldoon and Aly Muldowney are the five players shortlisted for the award.

Supporters can vote for their winner on the Life Style Sports website.

The winner will be presented with his accolade at the annual Connacht Rugby Awards Night at the Radisson Hotel in Galway on May 16.

Fans will also select the Try of the Year with votes being cast on Irish Independent website on with three players in contention.

Matt Healy's effort against Scarlets in November is in the running, along with Niyi Adeolokun's try against La Rochelle in January, while Kieran Marmion's touchdown in the win over Munster on New Year's Day also makes the shortlist.

Three players - Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney and Aly Muldowney - are in the running for the Forward of the Year, while the Back of the Year is between Matt Healy, Robbie Henshaw and Danie Poolman.

The Academy Player of the Year will be between Ultan Dillane, Cian Romaine and Eoghan Masterson, while there will also be several other awards on the night for women's rugby, club, underage and schools.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport