Wednesday 29 January 2020

Connacht name seven players who will be released at the end of the season

AJ MacGinty will be leaving Connacht
AJ MacGinty will be leaving Connacht

Connacht have confirmed that seven players will leave the province at the end of this season.

Fionn Carr, Jason Harris-Wright, AJ MacGinty, Aly Muldowney, George Naoupu, Api Pewhairangi and Ian Porter will depart the province with coach Pat Lam admitting difficult decisions were made.

"It's always a difficult time of year when we have to make decisions about the future makeup of the squad. Within professional rugby, every team sees changes in their squad from one season to the next," said coach Pat Lam.

"What we have achieved so far this season, and what remains to be achieved, has come on the back of the hard work of every single player in this current squad. I know everyone is committed and excited to finish the 2015/16 season together on a massive high.

"We recognise and value the contribution these men have made to Connacht Rugby and we will celebrate it together with our supporters at the end of the season."

The Pro12 high-fliers have enjoyed a brilliant campaign and are currently level with Leinster at the top of the table.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Ireland's Six Nations target, a French revival and Ian Madigan's future

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport