Thursday 23 November 2017

Codyre the hero as Jes dig deep to land the big prize

Colaiste Iognaid 16 Garbally 15 Top Oil Schools Snr Cup final

Colaiste Iognaid celebrate their Top Oil Connacht Senior Cup victory (INPHO/James Crombie)
Colaiste Iognaid celebrate their Top Oil Connacht Senior Cup victory (INPHO/James Crombie)

Garbally notched up the first score of the decider after just ten minutes.

The forwards carried hard and after a number of pick-and-goes from short range, captain Frank Hopkins crashed over in the corner, Colm Reilly narrowly missing the conversion.

The Jes responded with a penalty from out-half Morgan Codyre after some barnstorming runs by props Gary Keane and Adam Corbett.

The Jes looked slick in attack, fullback Diarmuid Codyre linking seamlessly with his forwards, flankers Cian Parsons and Fionn Durkin notable carriers.

Quick ruck ball deep inside the Garbally half gave Diarmuid Codyre k ample space to attack the Garbally backline and his chip through was expertly gathered by winger David Molloy to score despite the attentions of three defenders. Hopkins added the conversion to make it 10-5.

Garbally were held up over the line but came back for a five-yard penalty and the Jes defensive line couldn't withstand the power of No 8 Michael O'Neill who smashed over, leaving the game drawn at 10-10 at half time.

A MorganCodyre penalty put the Galway side back in front 10 minutes into the second half.

The Garbally reaction was swift and brutal, sustained attack led to a number of penalties and when Hopkins' kick to touch brought them within sniffing distance of the line O'Neill was on hand to crash over again.

The Jes had an opportunity to go back ahead but Codyre's long-range attempt fell short of the posts, and then his drop-goal attempted drifted wide with six minutes to go.


Garbally lock Stephen Grenham was sin binned with five minutes to go for a dangerous tackle but Codyre's kick fell agonisingly short again.

He atoned for the earlier misses with a penalty just inside the Garbally 10m line less than a minute later to put the Jes a point into the lead going into the final 60 seconds. The Jes survived a late onslaught from Garbally.

Garbally College - Brian Horkan, Eoin Galvin, Colm O'Brien, Joseph Devine, Billy McKenna; Frank Hopkins (capt), Colm Reilly; Jeff Alova, Eoin Costello, Cormac Coffey, Conor Harewood, Stephan Grenham; Mohammad Abdallah, Ciaran Tumelty, Michael O'Neill. Reps: Rafeek Khan, Conor Smyth, Gene Donoghue, Iarla Muldoon, Nathan Cooley, Raymond Ward, Jack Kelly

Coláiste Iognaid - Diarmuid Codyre; Cillian McCabe, Ryan Hunt, James Hill, David Molloy; Morgan Codyre, Jasper Byrne; Adam Corbett, Conal Fallon, Gary Keane; Aaron Mannion, Ross Gorey; Cian Parsons, Fionn Durkin, Jake Gallagher. Reps: Dioraí O'Connor, Sean Monaghan, Cian Gaegan, Luca Bartolomi, Michael Higgins, Cathal McGuinness, Conor Briscoe, Jack Grealish.

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport