Sport Rugby

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Connacht rout creates history

Connacht 26
Munster 9

Connacht captured the crown for the first time in history when they brushed aside Munster at the Sportsground on Saturday.

Connacht had set themselves up for a tilt at the crown after victories over Ulster and Leinster, and they made no mistake with a three tries to nil success, with captain Kevin Higgins, centre Mata Fafita and winger Aaron Spring touching down.

Munster led 9-5 at the break, with Higgins crossing for Connacht in response to three penalties from Darragh O'Brien.

Connacht then got on top as the accurate boot of Paddy Pearson steered them to victory and Fafita and Spring got in for tries.

)Connacht -- K Higgins; R O'Connor, D Prior (J Culkin 71), M Fafita, A Spring; P Pearson (G O'Connor 75), M Murphy (T Ellard 71); W Maxwell (D McHugh 48), M Lee, T Toolan (R Coughlan 71); J Bowes (D Hansberry 56), W Parker; E Rooney, M Ward (B Murphy 75), A McNulty.

Munster -- D O'Brien; R O'Connor (D Meade 58), P O'Connor, K Merrigan (D McCormack 49), C O'Coieain (D McCormack 80); C Quinlan, O McGlinchey; T Downes, A O'Donnell (D Fitzgerald 75), M McInerney (T Keveney 72); JJ Frahill, P Memory ( D O'Sullivan 49); B O'Sullivan, G Lubey (E Horgan 72), T Wright (B Lyons 49).

REF -- D O'Shea (IRFU).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport