Thursday 24 October 2019

Sean Cronin passed fit as Leinster and Saracens name formidable sides for Champions Cup final

Seán Cronin during the Leinster team captain's run at St James' Park in Newcastle Upon Tyne, England. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile
Seán Cronin during the Leinster team captain's run at St James' Park in Newcastle Upon Tyne, England. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Leinster have named a strong side to take on Saracens in the Champions Cup final, with injury doubt Sean Cronin selected at hooker after overcoming a calf problem.

Cronin was the big concern for Leo Cullen heading into this weekend, with the Ireland international limping off during the semi-final win over Toulouse after suffering a lower-leg injury.

However, the 33-year-old is fit enough to take his place in the front row of a side unchanged from the victory against Toulouse alongside Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong, while James Ryan and Devin Toner continue their second row parternship. The back row sees Jack Conan packing down at number eight, with Sean O'Brien and Scott Fardy at flanker.

After missing out on last year's final, James Lowe is selected to start on the left wing, while Johnny Sexton will captain the side at out-half.

For Saracens, Mark McCall has made one change to the team that beat Munster in the final four, with flanker Michael Rhodes missing out through injury. Maro Itoje moves to blindside flanker with Australian second row Will Skelton coming into the starting team. Captain Brad Barritt has been passed fit to start at outside centre. Like Sean Cronin, Barritt was forced off with an injury during the semi-final, but the club veteran has recovered sufficiently to face Leinster.

The Champions Cup final kicks off at 17.00.


15. Rob Kearney

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

14. Jordan Larmour

13. Garry Ringrose

12. Robbie Henshaw

11. James Lowe

10. Johnny Sexton (C)

9. Luke McGrath

1. Cian Healy

2. Sean Cronin

3. Tadhg Furlong

4. Devin Toner

5. James Ryan

6. Scott Fardy

7. Sean O'Brien

8. Jack Conan


16. James Tracy

17. Jack McGrath

18. Michael Bent

19. Rhys Ruddock

20. Max Deegan

21. Hugh O'Sullivan

22. Ross Byrne

23. Rory O'Loughlin



15. Alex Goode

14. Sean Maitland

13. Alex Lozowski

12. Brad Barritt (C)

11. Liam Williams

10. Owen Farrell

9. Ben Spencer

1. Mako Vunipola

2. Jamie George

3. Titi Lamositele

4. Will Skelton

5. George Kruis

6. Maro Itoje

7. Jackson Wray

8. Billy Vunipola


16. Joe Gray

17. Richard Barrington

18. Vincent Koch

19. Nick Isiekwe

20. Schalke Burger

21. Richard Wigglesworth

22. Nick Tompkins

23. David Strettle

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Ireland fall short again, 2019 slump and what Andy Farrell must do as head coach

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport