Tuesday 16 January 2018

McCarthy cited for tackle

CONNACHT flanker Mike McCarthy could face a suspension after being cited for a tackle on Toulouse wing Vincent Clerc during last Saturday's Heineken Cup defeat to the French giants at the Sportsground, writes Donnchadh Boyle.

McCarthy was sin-binned for the tackle in the first half but may face further action after he was cited by match commissioner Bruce Reece-Russell for a tackle in contravention of Law 10.4(e), which deals with the "dangerous tackling of an opponent including a tackle or an attempted tackle above the line of the shoulders."

McCarthy's hearing will take place in Dublin tomorrow and if found guilty, he's likely to face a ban of at least two weeks.

London Irish centre Steve Shingler also faces a disciplinary committee after he was sent off during his side's defeat to Cardiff.

Meanwhile, Munster scrum-half Peter Stringer is the only Irish player named in the 22-man Barbarians squad to take on Australia at Twickenham on Saturday.

Stringer finds himself behind both Conor Murray and Tomas O'Leary in Tony McGahan's plans, but is likely to see some action this weekend.

The Barbarians, coached by New Zealand's World Cup winners Graham Henry and Steve Hansen, have called on the services of players from 10 different countries, including the likes of Springboks duo Bryan Habana and Victor Matfield.

English Rugby League star Sam Tomkins, making a one-off switch of codes, is also included for the clash with the Wallabies, who are skippered by James Horwill.

Barbarians -- S Tomkins (England RL), B Habana (South Africa), I Toeava (New Zealand), R Fruean (Crusaders), S Mortlock (Australia), R Kahui (New Zealand), S Rabeni (Fiji), D Cipriani (England), P Stringer (Ireland), N Kenatale (Fiji), K Mealamu (New Zealand), A Strauss (South Africa), S Perugini (Italy), S Marconnet (France), E Guinazu (Argentina), V Matfield (South Africa), S Shaw (England), M Bortolami (Italy), J White (Scotland), J Kaino (New Zealand), A Thomson (New Zealand), M Bergamasco (Italy).

australia -- B Alexander, A Ashley-Cooper, B Barnes, P Cowan, D Dennis, A Faingaa, W Genia, S Higginbotham, M Hodgson, R Horne, J Horwill (capt), D Ioane, Ben Lucas, S Ma'afu, B McCalman, S Moore, J O'Connor, N Phipps, D Pocock, T Polota Nau, R Samo, N Sharpe, R Simmons, J Slipper, B Tapuai, L Turner.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport