Friday 23 February 2018

Hayes gets nod for Munster squad

Hugh Farrelly

JOHN HAYES has been included in Munster's Heineken Cup squad for the pool stages due a number of front-row injuries.

The veteran tight-head was not expected to be part of Munster's plans this season, but injuries to Peter Borlase and Darragh Hurley have led to Hayes' inclusion as one of six props.

Fellow internationals David Wallace, Jerry Flannery and Felix Jones are notable absentees due to injury but Hurley, Borlase (both expected to resume full training in the coming weeks) and Flannery could come into the squad after rounds one and two under ERC regulations.

There are a host of Heineken Cup newcomers in the squad, including wing Simon Zebo, scrum-half Conor Murray and hooker Sean Henry, along with Academy wing-forward Dave O'Callaghan and new signings Ian Keatley, BJ Botha and Will Chambers.

MUNSTER (Heineken Cup squad)-- Backs: S Deasy, D Howlett, D Hurley, J Murphy, S Zebo, D Barnes, W Chambers, T Gleeson, K Earls, L Mafi, R O'Gara, I Keatley, T O'Leary, C Murray, D Williams, P Stringer. Forwards: D Fogarty, D Varley, M Sherry, S Henry, M Horan, J Hayes, S Archer, W du Preez, BJ Botha, J Ryan, P O'Connell, D O'Callaghan, M O'Driscoll, I Nagle, D Ryan, N Ronan, B Holland, T O'Donnell, P O'Mahony, D O'Callaghan, D Leamy, J Coughlan.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport