Sunday 17 November 2019

Four changes for Leinster in Clermont showdown

Leinster's Heinke van der Merwe. Photo: Sportsfile
Leinster's Heinke van der Merwe. Photo: Sportsfile

THE defending champions Leinster have made four changes for tomorrow’s crunch clash with Clermont Auvergne at Lansdowne Road.

Heinke Van der Merwe, Richardt Strauss, Shane Jennings and Eoin Reddan come in as Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Kevin McLaughlin and Isaac Boss drop out of the starting 15. .

Van der Merwe has recovered from injury and will line upo the front row alongside Ireland internationals Strauss and Mike Ross.

Jennings, who started last weekend’s Heineken Cup game against the same opposition on the bench last, will fill out the back-row alongside fellow Ireland internationals Sean O'Brien and number eight Jamie Heaslip.

Reddan partners Jonathan Sexton in the only change to the backline which started last weekend's game.

That means that Andrew Goodman will continue his midfield partnership with Gordon D'Arcy.

There are now over 48,000 tickets sold for Saturday's game which is a new Irish Pool record.

LEINSTER: Ian Madigan, Fergus McFadden, Gordon D'Arcy, Andrew Goodman, Isa Nacewa, Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan, Heinke van der Merwe, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen, Damian Browne, Sean O'Brien, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Michael Bent, Devin Toner, Kevin McLaughlin, Isaac Boss, Andrew Conway, Dave Kearney

The Left Wing: Champions Cup preview, the World Cup hangover and Joe Schmidt's next team

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport