Monday 23 October 2017

Five 'Dream' places for the provinces

IRISH clubs have five players in this season's Pro12 Dream Team, but only one of them is Irish qualified.

Leinster are represented by Isa Nacewa and Richardt Strauss, who is named on the team for the second successive year.

Ulster's South African Ruan Pienaar and Ireland's Dan Tuohy also make the grade.

Munster's sole representative is Springbok prop BJ Botha, although Cardiff's Casey Laulala is on the team and will join the Reds next season.

Glasgow Warriors are the best represented club with three players -- Duncan Weir, Jon Welsh and Tom Ryder.

Wales Grand Slam hero and Cardiff Blues winger Alex Cuthbert and Scarlets and England No 8 Ben Morgan also make the dream team.

PRO12 Dream Team -- Isa Nacewa (Leinster), Tim Visser (Edinburgh), Casey Laulala (Cardiff Blues), Ashley Beck (Ospreys), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues); Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster); Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), BJ Botha (Munster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Tom Ryder (Glasgow Warriors), Dave Denton (Edinburgh), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Ben Morgan (Scarlets).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport