Monday 20 November 2017

Fitting tribute to Anthony Foley as EPCR rename Player of Year Trophy

Anthony Foley. Photo: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE
Anthony Foley. Photo: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE

This year's European Player of the Year will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy in honour of the later Munster man.

The winner of the trophy will be selected by a public vote as well as a panel of experts with the winner announced following today's Champions Cup final between Saracens and Clermont.

Leinster's Garry Ringrose and CJ Stander of Munster are the two Irish representatives alongside Owen Farrell, Mario Itoje and Camille Lopez.

"This is a fitting way to honour Anthony's memory. He was a great player and a great leader as well as a galvanising force in Munster's European odyssey," said EPCR Chairman, Simon Halliday.

"I would like to thank the Foley family and Munster Rugby for allowing us create this trophy for now and for the future."

Foley sadly passed away in Paris last October at the age of 42.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport