Saturday 24 August 2019

Fergus McFadden in danger of missing Champions Cup final after being cited for alleged head-butt

Referee George Clancy speaks to Fergus McFadden of Leinster following incident with Sean Reidy
Referee George Clancy speaks to Fergus McFadden of Leinster following incident with Sean Reidy
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Fergus McFadden could be ruled out of the Champions Cup final after being cited following an incident in last weekend's PRO 14 clash against Ulster.

The Leinster wing appeared to strike Ulster back row Sean Reidy with his head during his side's 14-13 defeat in Kingspan Stadium last Saturday, although the TMO recommended that McFadden receive no card.

Reidy left the field for a HIA shortly afterwards and didn't come back on, and McFadden went on to score a try before half time.

However, the PRO 14 have confirmed that McFadden has been cited under law 9.12, which states 'a player must not physically abuse anyone - Striking with the head'.

McFadden will face a disciplinary hearing on Wednesday, and could miss the Champions Cup final against Saracens on May 11 if he receives a ban.

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: The 'hell' of World Cup training camp, Ireland's half-back dilemma and All Blacks uncertainty

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport