Thursday 17 October 2019

Farrell boots Sarries to glory on day to forget for Carter

Saracens 21 Racing 9

Saracens' Owen Farrell landed seven penalty kicks Photo: PA
Saracens' Owen Farrell landed seven penalty kicks Photo: PA
Saracens' Petrus Du Plessis (right) celebrates after the game Photo: PA
(left to right) Saracens' Duncan Taylor, Michael Rhodes, Jamie George, Chris Wyles and Jackson Wray celebrate winning the European Champions Cup Photo: PA newsdesk

Saracens became the first English club to conquer Europe for nine years as Owen Farrell kicked them to Champions Cup glory. Farrell booted seven penalties from seven attempts, outshining his opposite number Dan Carter and taking Saracens to the summit of European rugby.

Not since Lawrence Dallaglio's Wasps in 2007 had an English team won European club rugby's most coveted trophy, and it could get even better for Saracens, as they are just two wins from successfully defending their Aviva Premiership title.

Wasps were also the last English team to complete a domestic and European double, but the fact that was 12 years ago underlines its acute degree of difficulty.

Carter departed injured just two minutes into the second half - Racing had already seen his half-back partner Maxime Machenaud go off - and three Johann Goosen penalties were their solitary scoring contributions during a final that Saracens never looked like losing.

Their triumph ended a run of Irish and French dominance in Europe, while Saracens also became the first team in the competition's history to stay unbeaten, winning nine successive games, including six pool matches.

A 58,000 crowd witnessed a try-less final, but Saracens will not care as they compensated for defeat against Toulon two years ago when the French heavyweights completed the second stage of an eventual European title hat-trick.

Scorers - Saracens: O Farrell 7 pens. Racing 92: J Goosen 3 pens.
Racing 92: B Dulin; J Rokocoko, J Goosen, A Dumoulin (H Chavency 56), J Imhoff; D Carter (R Tales 42), M Machenaud (M Phillips 21); E Ben Arous (K Vartenov 75), D Szarzewski (capt) (V Lacombe 65), B Tameifuna (L Dulcalcon 67); L Charteris, F Van der Merwe (M Carizza 65); W Lauret, B Le Roux (A Claassen 76), C Masoe.
Saracens: A Goode; C Ashton, D Taylor (M Bosch 76), B Barritt (capt), C Wyles; O Farrell (C Hodgson 79), R Wigglesworth (B Spencer 79); M Vunipola (R Barrington 76), S Brits (J George 21), P du Plessis (J Figallo 67); M Itoje (J Hamilton 79), G Kruis; M Rhodes, W Fraser, B Vunipola (J Wray 42).
Referee: N Owens (WRU).

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

Sunday Indo Sport

The Left Wing: Welcome to Irish rugby's biggest week - is an upset on the cards?

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport