Wednesday 21 March 2018

Rob Kearney has been ruled out of Ireland's final Six Nations game against Scotland

Rob Kearney
Rob Kearney
Will Slattery

Will Slattery

Simon Zebo may hold onto the fullback jersey for Ireland's home encounter with Scotland on Saturday after the IRFU announced that Rob Kearney won't be fit to play.

The Leinster fullback missed last weekend's thumping of Italy with a hamstring injury and he hasn't recovered sufficiently to take part in training this week. Fullback has been an interesting area of debate throughout the championship, with Kearney, Zebo and Jared Payne all potential options for Joe Schmidt.

It looks like Zebo is the most likely to start this weekend though, with the Munster flyer coming off such a potent attacking display against Italy.

In other injury news, Cian Healy and Eoin Reddan will continue their rehab with the aim of being available to train tomorrow. The Leinster duo were unavailable last weekend.

The 35-man squad for this weekend's game includes uncapped Munster back Andrew Conway.

Here is the squad in full:

Forwards (19)

Finlay Bealham (Corinthians/Connacht)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) c

Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)

David Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) vc

David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Jack McGrath (St Mary's College/Leinster)

Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Jack O'Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster)*

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Rhys Ruddock (St Mary's College/Leinster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

CJ Stander (Munster)

Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)

Nathan White (Connacht)


Backs (16)

Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster)*

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Patrick Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)

Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)

Stuart McCloskey (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Jared Payne (Ulster)

Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (St Mary's College/Leinster)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport