Friday 23 March 2018

Panels from Munster minnows plan 2015 boycott

Seanie Buckley, Limerick, in action against Pearse O'Neill, Cork
Seanie Buckley, Limerick, in action against Pearse O'Neill, Cork
Kerry’s Colm ‘Gooch’ Cooper has the strength of his jersey tested by Waterford’s Shane Briggs

Players from Limerick, Clare, Waterford and Tipperary will boycott the 2015 Munster Championship if the Munster Council does not reverse their decision to seed Cork and Kerry in the provincial championship.

In a statement released this evening via the Gaelic Players Association, the four panels have admitted defeat in altering the structure of next year's championship with the draw taking place tomorrow night.

As a more immediate protest, the players will ask their counties not to enter them in the McGrath Cup and will ask players not to make themselves available for the Munster team for the Railway Cup.

Here is the statement in full:

“The Waterford, Clare, Tipperary and Limerick senior football panels would like to formally express our serious disappointment at the Munster Council’s decision to seed the Munster SFC 2014 without any consultation with county squads.

“We are aggrieved that this decision, which seriously disadvantages our counties’ provincial championship prospects, was also taken without certain counties being properly mandated to vote.

“We also believe the decision to seed the Munster football championship affects the wider All-Ireland series in an unfair manner.

“We understand that we are now restricted by the rules for the 2014 season but we will be approaching our respective county executives in the four counties to seek assurances that the decision will be revisited next year.

“As a form of immediate protest against this decision, and respecting the views of our squad members, the four squads have asked their counties to withdraw from the 2014 McGrath Cup.

“Also we will be asking our players to consider not making themselves available for the 2014 Railway Cup football series. In recent years players from the four counties have helped backbone the Munster Railway Cup side.

“Players from the four squads will then convene a meeting before the National league 2014 to assess the situation going forward.

“All four squads are also united in saying that if the seeding arrangement isn’t reversed next year through the formal channels, that the current panellists will not participate in the 2015 Munster championship.

“We would like to thank the people inside and outside our counties for the support and good wishes since this decision was taken.”

Signed on behalf of the squads: Shane Briggs (Waterford), Seanie Buckley (Limerick), Joe Hayes (Clare), George Hannigan (Tipperary).

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport