Monday 19 March 2018

Watt lights the way for Ireland


An early strike by Mikey Watt set Ireland on the way to an easy 4-0 victory over Russia at the Champions Challenge tournament in Lille yesterday, WRITES DAVID MEDCALF.

Watt's seventh-minute goal was teed up by David Ames.

Peter Caruth took the credit for the assist as Chris Cargo extended the advantage before half-time. Ames was once more the provider for number three, converted by Eugene Magee.

The fourth came from a rare penalty corner, with Peter Blakeney finding the net. The Irish finished top of Pool B and now face USA in the knockout phase.


Kumar Sangakkara received warm handshakes from his team-mates at a net practice yesterday but the glow of praise for his Spirit of Cricket Cowdrey lecture on Monday night cooled with the news the government in Sri Lanka has launched an investigation into his speech.

"We have to aspire to better administration," said Sangakkara in his speech. He blamed corruption for blighting the country's development.

Sri Lanka's cricket board responded by saying Sangakkara should not be commenting during a one-day series, while sports minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage has ordered an investigation into the speech.

England v Sri Lanka, Live, Sky Sports 1, 2.0


Ellen Keane posted her fourth PB of the IPC European Championships in Berlin yesterday but could not replicate her form of the heats in the 100m breaststroke final.

The 17-year-old clocked 1.24.78. However her final time of 1.25.36 placed her fifth overall in the SB9 100m breaststroke.

Other Irish results saw James Scully finish seventh in the S5 50m backstroke with a time of 46.64, James Campbell finished sixth in the final of the S11 400m freestyle in 5.30.83 and Jonathan McGrath finished eighth in the S8 400m freestyle clocking 5.01.43.


The Leinster team for the Interprovincials has been selected and includes Brian Casey (Headfort) fresh from his win last Friday in the Irish Youths Championship at Tramore. The Interpros takes place at Co Sligo GC from July 19-21.

Leinster -- E Arthurs (Forrest Little), B Casey (Headfort), P Dunne (Greystones), J Greene (Carlow), R McNamara (Headfort), C Martin (Kilkenny), R O'Donovan (Lucan), S Walshe (Baltinglass). Non-travelling reserves: A Hogan (Newlands), J Hopkins (Skerries). Team captain: B Reddan (Co Louth). Manager: T Goode (Lucan).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport