Wednesday 21 March 2018

Ireland captain Conor Niland names his Davis Cup team

Conor Niland
Conor Niland

Conor Niland, Captain of the Irish Davis Cup team, has this morning announced his team to for the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Euro/Africa Zone Group III Competition.

James McGee - Ireland's number one - had declared himself unavailable for the tie for scheduling reasons so Sam Barry will lead the team with Bjorn Thomson as number two. Peter Bothwell is selected at No 3 and they will be joined by doubles specialist David O’Hare for the tie which takes place at Tere Tennis Centre, in Tallin Estonia on March 2-5th 2016.

“I am very pleased to announce a team with a good mixture of youth and experience for this tie in Estonia. With the retirement of James Cluskey and unavailability of James McGee It is a good opportunity for us to launch our young upcoming players into the Davis Cup arena," said Niland.

Ireland will be seeking promotion to Europe Zone Group II for 2017.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport