| 17.3°C Dublin

Taylor to skipper shadow England team


James Taylor to captain understrength England team at Malahide

James Taylor to captain understrength England team at Malahide

Getty Images

James Taylor to captain understrength England team at Malahide

James Taylor will captain a barely recognisable England side in Friday week's one-day international as Eoin Morgan and nearly all the players involved in the Test series in the Caribbean have been excused the biennial challenge at Malahide.

The 11-strong initial squad named by England yesterday will be bolstered by a couple of players who do not make the XI for the third Test against the West Indies, which starts on Friday, possibly James Tredwell and Adil Rashid.

Only Taylor, Steven Finn and Alex Hales definitely survive from England's dismal World Cup campaign and the 10,000 fans expected to pack into the pop-up stadium at Malahide may feel short-changed, with six uncapped and largely unknown faces in the visitors' squad.

It is as fresh-faced a squad as England have ever sent out for senior international duty, with only Finn and Tim Bresnan, recalled after a year, boasting any decent track record in the format.

Dubliner Morgan, who captained England in the fixture two years ago, is on IPL duty, while England's insistence on scheduling the 50-over match so close to their Test tour could be seen as another example of not taking Ireland seriously as cricketing opponents.

Despite losing a World Cup match to William Porterfield's side four years ago in Bangalore, England have yet to issue an invitation to play what would be a first ODI on the other side of the Irish Sea, and won't in the foreseeable future.

The Ireland squad suffered a potential blow yesterday when Tim Murtagh felt a twinge in his back and was unable to bat or bowl for Middlesex against Somerset at Taunton.

The experienced seam bowler had been expected to make his international comeback at Malahide after missing the World Cup with a broken foot.

ENGLAND SQUAD - James Taylor (capt, Notts), Zafar Ansari (Surrey), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (wk, Kent), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Alex Hales (Notts), Jason Roy (Surrey), James Vince (Kent), David Willey (Northants)

Irish Independent