| 9°C Dublin

Running by numbers

You don't need to run any particular qualifying standard to participate or have any sponsorship, but there is a race entry fee of between €70-€90 this year, depending on when you entered.


Only two Irishmen have run the marathon distance faster than two hours 11 minutes. The first came via John Treacy's 2:09.15 effort when third in Boston in 1988, while the second was Mark Carroll's 2:10.54 run when sixth in New York in 2002.


The elite group of Irishmen who have won the Dublin Marathon: Dick Hooper (1980, '85 and '86), Neil Cusack (1981), Jerry Kiernan (1982, '92), John Griffin (1988, '89), Johnny Bolger (1990), Tommy Hughes (1991) and John Treacy (1993).


Conservative estimate of the number of volunteer race stewards who work tirelessly from 6.0 on race day morning to ensure everyone gets through the day safely.


The number of Irish people who have run every one of the last 30 Dublin Marathons. Mary Nolan Hickey is the only woman to do so and will run her 31st this year with a team of 150 to raise funds for Wicklow's first hospice.


This year is the Dublin Marathon's 31st birthday. It started in 1980 and was the brainchild of the late Noel Carroll.


The amount of Euro which it is estimated will be raised for charity by this year's participants.


Number of marathons that former 'Sawdoctor' Johnny Donnelly has already done in his phenomenal 'RunJohnnyRun' charity fundraising challenge. It's roughly a marathon a month from 2008 to 2012. His last five were Peru (August 30), Connemara (Sept 11), Donegal (Sept 26), Cologne (Oct 4)

and Munich (Oct 10). Next start: Dublin


The number of euros that Monday's men's and women's winners will each receive. The first three Irishmen and women to cross the finishing line will also get cash prizes (€1,500/€1000/€500) and there are additional financial incentives to break particular times, including Jerry Kiernan's Irish course record of 2:13.45 from 1982.


Number of countries represented in this year's marathon. Of the record 13,038 entrants, there are 9,107 men and 3,931 women.


Age of Dundalk woman Colette O'Hagan, who is running her 200th marathon in Dublin.


Number of years since an Irish athlete won the women's race in Dublin. Sonia O'Sullivan was the last to do it in 2000. When Pauline Nolan won in 1989 the runner-up was Liz Bullen, John Treacy's twin sister!


Number who took part in the first ever Dublin marathon in 1980, won by 24-year-old Dick Hooper in 2:16.14 -- though only 1,420 actually finished it.


A year later entries had shot up to over this number, as the world's first big road-running boom took off, but that had slumped to just 2,414 finishers in 1992. By '98 entries had risen to over 5,000 again and have been climbing steadily since to this year's record 13,038.

124, 668

Number of bottles of water that the marathon organisers estimate will be thirstily consumed over marathon weekend -- although they're not saying exactly how they worked this figure out.


Age of Franks Starrs, the oldest participant of the elite group who have run every single Dublin Marathon. Great Blackrock veteran Paddy Craddock (75) held that honour until finally hanging up his runners this year, but he'll be there on Monday too, working as a volunteer around the finishing line.


Age of Kay O'Regan from Enniscorthy, who is running her 100th marathon on Monday alongside her 50-year-old son. Inspirational Kay didn't take up running until she was 48 and her average finishing time is 4:20 minutes.

Irish Independent