| 13.7°C Dublin

Patterson takes Rally of the Lakes

Irish crews Wesley Patterson/Sean Hayde and Mark Falvey/Gerard Conway took the top two places in this country's first ever round of the FIA European Historic Rally Championship, the Cartell.ie International Rally of the Lakes in Killarney. After two days of classic stages, Patterson and Hayde finished one and a half minutes clear of Falvey and Conway, with third-placed British crew Andrew Siddall and Carl Williamson another eight minutes behind.

In the Tarmac Championship round for modern cars, Fermanagh driver Garry Jennings and his Donegal co-driver Neil Doherty scored their second International victory, with their Subaru Impreza finishing the two days 51 seconds ahead of Derek McGarrity/James McKee in another Impreza. The Belfast pair snatched second place on the final two stages from Donagh Kelly and Kevin Flanagan by just half a second.

Former Billy Coleman Award winner Sam Moffett took fourth place overall and won the Group N Production class ahead of fellow Monaghan drivers Stephen Wright and Josh Moffett, while the Escort of Fergus O'Meara and Brian Doherty won the National Rally.


Denis Lynch pocketed €28,500 when finishing fourth in the opening leg of the 2013 Global Champions Tour (GCT) series in Madrid.

From a starting field of 50, just eight qualified for the third-round jump-off over Louis Konickx's track and, third to go, the Irishman had one down. Only British veteran Michael Whitaker managed to leave all the fences up third time out with Viking to collect the €94,000 winner's purse that makes the GCT events so appealing to the world's top show jumpers.

At the Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials, Aoife Clarke and Master Crusoe, 16th after dressage, improved four places with a great cross-country run to add just 0.8 time penalties.

The partnership lie just over 10 faults off the leading German duo of Michael Jung and La Biostethique Sam going into today's final showjumping phase.

Sam Watson and Horseware Bushman are in 24th after a clear cross-country while Elizabeth Power (September Bliss) picked up two time faults to slot into 28th.

Sarah Ennis and Sugar Brown Babe collected 12.8 time faults but Joseph Murphy (Electric Cruise), Jim Newsam (Magennis) and Michael Ryan (Ballylynch Skyport) all added 20 penalties for a refusal or glance-off on the course, while Peter Hannigan and First Mate were eliminated for a fall.


Philip Deignan took his first victory since stage 18 of the Vuelta a Espana when he won the five-day Tour of the Gila in America.

Deignan's fourth-place finish on the opening stage's summit finish to Mogollon gave him a solid foundation for the rest of the week and he managed to move up a place in the overall standings after a solid performance in the stage three individual time trial finishing fifth.

Irish Independent