Friday 15 December 2017

Motorsport: Polley chasing first 'Vee' title in Mondello showpiece

Declan Quigley

Ireland's most popular single-seater series, Formula Vee, once again has the honour of providing the action for Sunday's Leinster Trophy race at Mondello Park.

As one of the country's most accessible racing classes, Formula Vee has consistently provided strength in depth over the past 30 years and once again the venerable air-cooled racers have garnered a strong entry for the most prestigious race of the season.

Following the penultimate championship event of the year on Saturday afternoon, the Vees take to the track again on Sunday for the non-championship Leinster Trophy race and the action is sure to be furious in the battle to lift a trophy that has been won in the past by Ayrton Senna and Mika Hakkinen.

Multi Formula Vee champion Ray Moore leads the championship race with his Leastone-Doherty. Dubliner Dan Polley is pitching for his first Vee title and the record industry professional is expected to be to the fore in his Sheane-Doherty.


Also expected to challenge are former Vee champion Brian Kelly from Donegal, recent Mondello victor Robert Casey and perennial front-runner Robbie Allen, all racing Wicklow-built Sheanes. Leastone constructor Paul Heavey is also sure to contend.

Despite suggestions that the Vees were not prestigious enough to race for the Leinster Trophy, the Leinster Motor Club have decided that the packed grids and guaranteed excitement were the right ingredients for their flagship event.

The EuroBoss class from the UK is set to bring as many as eight cars to race, with the Irish Formula Libre class and the extraordinary sight and sound of Formula One and Formula 3000-style machinery is worth the admission fee on its own.

Meanwhile, in rallying, rising star Craig Breen swaps roles for the weekend as he takes over the co-driver's seat of Daniel Barry's Mitsubishi Evo 9 on the Wexford Stages Rally.

Welshman Damian Cole and Craig Drew start No 1 and they they will be followed off the start ramp by Neil McCance and Johnny Hart.

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport