| 18.5°C Dublin

Mangan eyes more glory for Westmeath


WESTMEATH joint-manager Alan Mangan predicted further success for his charges after they won this clash in Killoe to clinch a second successive title.

Mangan was assisted by Peter Leahy last year when the Lake County won the Division 4 crown before adding the All-Ireland intermediate title to their trophy haul last September.

This year, Mangan is working alongside former Westmeath team-mate Martin Flanagan and the duo will now focus their attention on the Leinster senior championship semi-final against Meath on July 1.

Mangan, who won a Leinster SFC medal in 2004, reflected: "These girls are a serious bunch and coming up two divisions in two years is something that not many teams have done."


The only blot on Westmeath's display was a tally of 18 wides -- evenly split between both halves.

A generally entertaining fixture, played in front of a healthy crowd estimated in the region of 1,500, was settled in the closing minutes when Westmeath hit four successive points to put the issue beyond doubt, the final two supplied by sub Emma Morris.

Leitrim were over-reliant on the attacking prowess of Aine Tighe, who had scored eight points in the drawn match at Parnell Park.

At the midway point, Leitrim led by 1-5 to 1-4. Westmeath had raced into an early 1-2 to 0-1 lead, the goal scored by full-forward Karen Hegarty, but Leitrim hit back when Tighe finished a flowing move just before half-time.

The second half was a stop-start affair, pockmarked by stoppages and injuries, but Westmeath finished the stronger to claim the silverware.

Scorers -- Westmeath: K Hegarty 1-1, MA Foley (3f), R Kearney 0-3 each, E Morris 0-2 (1f), E Finn, L Walsh 0-1 each. Leitrim: A Tighe 1-6 (4f), N Tighe 0-1.

WESTMEATH -- C Warburton; A Martin, C Finch, A Brady; K Boyce-Jordon, J Rogers, K McDermott; MA Foley, R Kearney; E Finn, F Claffery, J Maher; L Walsh, K Hegarty, C Blundell. Subs: T Fagan for McDermott (41), E Morris for Blundell (51), S Kelly for Maher (56), L Brennan for Foley (57).

LEITRIM -- M Guckian; M Stenson, E McWeeney, S Kerrigan; K Gilgunn, S Tighe, L McWeeney; S Fowley, D Ward; N Tighe, S McManus, K Keegan; L Brennan, E Farrell, A Tighe. Subs: S Clancy for Farrell (44), L O'Dowd for Keegan (53), AM Gallagher for McManus (54).

Ref -- PJ Rabbitte (Galway)

Irish Independent