Sunday 18 February 2018

Keron takes Cork crown off Ciobanu

DEFENDING Cork City Marathon champion Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe) ran two minutes faster than last year but it still wasn't quick enough to beat Freddy Keron.

The Kenyan knocked over three minutes off the old Cork record, finishing in 2:22.12, with Ciobanu second in 2:22.55 and Huw Lobb (Serpentine) third in 2:28.37, followed by two Raheny men, Cillian O'Leary(2:29.52) and Brian Leahy (2:33.14).

Angela McCann (Clonmel) retained the women's title, coming home in 2:53.02, over a minute clear of Donore's Anne Curley (2:54.35) and Mary O'Leary (2:59.46).

Clonliffe's Gary O'Hanlon won the half-marathon in 1:09.15 and Lizzie Lee won the women's 'half' in 1:20.34, with Jerry Forde taking the wheelchair title.

Meanwhile, Linda Byrne won the Flora Women's Mini Marathon in a time of 33 minutes 29 seconds.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport