Monday 23 April 2018

In brief: O'Brien's Misty in Guineas Trial


Aidan O'Brien's dual Group One winner Misty For Me is among 21 entries for Sunday's Leopardstown 1,000 Guineas Trial Stakes.

The three-year-old is one of five entries from the master of Ballydoyle, with Empowering, Juliet Capulet, Together and Wild Wind also engaged.

John Oxx could be represented by course winner Manieree, Curragh scorer History Note and Naas winner Redskin Dancer, while Dermot Weld is able to call on Midnight Music and Zaminast.

Deire Na Sli, Gossamer Seed and Seeharn are other interesting contenders.


Dingle was celebrating last night after Pobal Scoil Chorca Dhuibhne won the U-19A All-Ireland Schools League at the National Arena.

Kate Ni Shuilleabhan scored 13 points and claimed the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award as she helped her team to a 50-46 victory.

Mercy Mounthawk failed to make it a double for the Kingdom as they lost 42-41 to St Vincent's, Cork in the U-16A final, in which Megan O'Leary was the star of the show.

St Leo's, Carlow claimed the U-19B title with a 34-26 win over Colaiste na Sceilge, with Aisling Hayden named MVP after scoring 16 points, while Brion McGowen hit 10 points as Colaiste Choilmcille, Ballyshannon took the U-16B title with a 55-53 win over Marian College.


De La Salle, Wicklow beat Scoil Mhuire Buncrana 8-7 on penalties in their 99th and final year to claim the FAI Schools Junior Cup at Oriel Park yesterday after the game had finished scoreless.

Ahead of a merger with their local VEC school neighbours in the summer, De La Salle were determined to go out on a high

Substitute Cian Verney dispatched the winning spot kick at the end of a nail-biting afternoon of action.

Another late introduction, Luke Byrne, could have sealed the win in extra time, but rushed an effort wide.

John Crowe and Peter McLaughlin traded a rare chance for each side in the opening half, before De La Salle went close first again after the break when Karl Earls blasted wide in the area.

Ryan Curren threated with a chance for Scoil Mhuire in the final stages of normal time, but the contest was destined for penalties and 'keeper Andrew Murphy's crucial save gave Verney his chance of glory.

DE LA SALLE -- A Murphy; L Earls, J Crowe, B Doyle, K Earls, N Fagan (C Verney 64), S Bouchier (L Byrne 84), A Cox, M O'Sullivan, J Kavanagh, D Orr.

SCOIL MHUIRE -- H Doherty; B Barber, R Doherty, P Doherty, B Waldron, R Curren, R Varma, D O'Connor, P McLaughlin, M Timlin, D Doherty.


Italy utility back Andrea Masi has been named Six Nations Player of the Tournament following a public vote.

Masi, the first Italian to win the award, picked up 30pc of the 17,562 votes cast, with team-mate Fabio Semenzato coming second.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport