Wednesday 23 October 2019

Hosking the hero as Rovers make it six of the best

Men's Irish senior cup final: Three Rock Rovers 1 Lisnagarvery 0

Lisnagarvey were the victims for a second week running in a real arm-wrestle. Stock photo
Lisnagarvey were the victims for a second week running in a real arm-wrestle. Stock photo Sportsdesk

Jody Hosking's 20th-minute touch saw Three Rock Rovers complete a sensational season with a sixth success, retaining their title at Grange Road.

It added to the EY Champions Trophy won a week ago as well as the Mills and Neville Cups, while they were also crowned Leinster and National indoor winners.

Lisnagarvey were the victims for a second week running in a real arm-wrestle.

Jamie Carr only had one save to make of note, booting away James Lorimer's tame drag-flick as Rovers kept Garvey out of range.

Rovers offered a threat from Mitch Darling and Harry Morris and went in front from their second penalty corner, Hosking diving to get a touch to Luke Madeley's low push.

John Mullins hit the post, and Rovers were ruthless in defence to close out the win.

It brought to 13 their trophy total since 2017 in addition to back-to-back European indoor promotions.

Next season, though, coach Niall Denham is taking a break, while Madeley, Carr and Daragh Walsh are all set for European pro contracts.

For now, though, they can reflect on a near-perfect season that also brought with it an Irish Junior Cup.

Three Rock Rovers - J Carr, D Kane, R Nair, R Canning, M Darling, B Walker, L Madeley, H Morris, J Hosking, H MacMahon, D Walsh. Subs: M Walker, J Mullins, C Empey, K Mullins, M English, A Flynn, S O'Brien.

Lisnagarvey - J Milliken, J Lorimer, J Bell, M McNellis, J Corry, D Nelson, A Williamson, P McKibbin, A Edgar, M Nelson, T Chambers. Subs: J Lynch, H Morris, C Chambers, O Kidd, R Arneill, J McGall, J Tormey.

Young guns fire Cork to trophy

Women's Irish senior cup final: Cork Harlequins 2 Loreto 2 (Cork win shoot-out 2-1)

Cork Harlequins staged a brilliant fightback to stun Loreto in a pulsating cup final.

They will probably go down as the youngest ever side to lift the trophy in its 116-year history, with eight schoolgirls in the panel of 18 not alive the last time they won it in 2000.

With internationals Cliodhna Sargent, Rebecca Barry and Yvonne O'Byrne all out, coach Darren Collins put his faith in youth.

It didn't look great early on, though, as Sarah Evans scored on four minutes before Aoife Taaffe netted.

The second-half was a completely different affair, as Quins' Emma Barber lead the charge and Michelle Barry was superlative. She got one back from a corner rebound and Olivia Roycroft got the next in a similar fashion with 10 minutes to go.

Both also scored in the shoot-out, which, allied to Lorna Bateman's brilliance in goals, ended in a 2-1 success.

"To do it with eight schoolgirls is just fantastic," Collins said. "All year round, we have talked about the squad and given them a lot of time on the pitch. That came through for us in the end.

"Cliodhna was missing, Rebecca missing, Yvonne stuck up in Banbridge at a training session. Any side would miss them, but the girls stepped up and produced."

Loreto: L Murphy, S Evans, H Mulcahy, M Jennings,, G McLoughlin, C Sherin, N Small, G Donald, C Hamill, S Clarke, C O'Kelly. Subs: K Crotty, S O'Brien, S Twomey, A Taaffe, O Brady, A Carragher

Cork Harlequins: L Bateman, E O'Donoghue, N Barry, S Murphy, E Barber, C Perdue, O Roycroft, J O'Halloran, M Barry, J Murphy, E O'Leary. Subs: Z Bowles, S Griffin, S Uniacke-Lowe, I Burns, N O'Leary, A O'Grady, B Maye

Umpires: L Clifford, C Metchette

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Ireland fall short again, 2019 slump and what Andy Farrell must do as head coach

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport