Monday 22 January 2018

Hockey: Quinn heroics key as Wesley regain senior dominance

(Wesley win 4-3 on pen strokes)

Conor Quinn's goalkeeping heroics were the key factor as Wesley College claimed their sixth Leinster Schoolboy's Senior Cup title in seven years at Belfield yesterday, ending St Andrew's one year reign as champions.

He saved two penalty strokes in the shoot-out as well as producing a full-length dive to deny David Cole a winner two minutes before the end of extra-time, a strike which almost certainly would have won the day.

Those blocks allowed Kirk Shimmins -- a Junior Cup winner last week -- to hold his nerve and complete the win with his side's fourth successful stroke. Earlier on, Wesley had hit the front when David McCrea scored with a low drag-flick in the 23rd minute.

But St Andrew's dominated from half-time onwards with Fiachra Maher, Lee Cole and David Watkins central to their fightback.

Watkins -- the match-winner a year ago -- levelled the game with an exquisite finish six minutes before the end when he roofed Oisin O'Halloran's well-weighted diagonal pass.

The Booterstown school continued to press forward in extra-time and, when Wesley coughed up a late penalty corner, they had their sights on a winner.

But Cole's strike was brilliantly tipped around the post and Quinn took that confidence boost into the penalty competition, saving two of the first three Andrew's efforts.

St Andrew's -- J Bernsden, I Moloney, J Codd, R Nair, D Cole, C Stephens, J Beirne, F Maher, O O'Halloran, L Cole, A Rooney, M Loughrey, E Foy, D Watkins, A Service, B Campbell

Wesley College -- C Quinn, D McCrea, B Chadwick, R Clarke, R Burke, M Lewis, T Samuel, K Shimmins, A Malcolm, A White, C Pullen, A Roberts, S Madeley, L Madeley, J Roberts, R Fitzgerald

(After extra-time)

David Nolan's extra-time strike was all that separated St Andrew's and Sutton Park in their Leinster Schoolboy's Minor Cup final, the curtain-raiser for the senior final at Belfield yesterday.

He jinked past two defenders before flicking goalwards with a slight deflection subsequently eluding the impressive goalkeeper Jack Scott.

St Andrew's -- J Carr, J Bailey, Z Agnew, B Arrowsmith, G Fearon, J Henry, D Nolan, A Bailey, A Fogarty, J Ryan, G Cole, H Temperley, S Hohn, S Gibbons, C Sinnamon, J Wiley.

Sutton Park -- J Scott, G O'Brien, D Confrey, W Eickholt, D Holmes, S Osborne, K O'Hare, P Meighan, B Pheifer, A Fee, R O'Hanlon, D Maloney, J Burns, C Walsh, D White, R Conlon-Dooley.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport