Thursday 18 January 2018


1982: First round, Tony Knowles 10 Steve Davis 1

Davis was the defending champion and would go on to dominate snooker for the rest of the decade. Knowles was given no chance by every expert but the man from Bolton destroyed Davis.

2000: First round, Stuart Bingham 10 Stephen Hendry 7

Hendry had been king of the Crucible throughout the 1990s but the dawning of a new decade brought about a change. Outsider Bingham would have been crushed by prime-era Hendry but, a year after his seventh world title, the Scot was sent home early.

1997: First round, Stefan Mazrocis 10 Peter Ebdon 3

Runner-up in 1996, Ebdon suffered the worst defeat of his career a year later when, as a qualifier with no history for such results, Holland-born Mazrocis played the match of his life.

1986, Final: Joe Johnson 18 Steve Davis 12

Journeyman Johnson had never won a match at the World Championship, yet at the age of 33 he fought all the way to the final, where Steve Davis, smarting from his final defeat to Dennis Taylor, was looking to make amends. But the pre-tournament 150-1 shot powered to victory and also reached the 1987 final, where Davis had his revenge.

Sunday Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport