Saturday 24 March 2018

FIA confirms 19-race Formula One season

Jenson Button of McLaren drives during testing earlier this month
Jenson Button of McLaren drives during testing earlier this month

Ian Parkes

THE FIA has confirmed there will be 19 grands prix on this year's Formula One calendar.

A provisional date set aside for an additional European race on July 21 will not be filled after F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone failed to lure Turkey back onto the calendar.


Portugal and Austria were also touted as possible hosts of a 20th race, but at a meeting of the World Motor Sport Council it was confirmed the calendar would remain as published at the end of last year.




March 17 - Australia (Albert Park)


March 24 - Malaysia (Sepang International Circuit)


April 14 - China (Shanghai International Circuit)


April 21 - Bahrain (Bahrain International Circuit)


May 12 - Spain (Circuit de Catalunya)


May 26 - Monaco (Monte-Carlo)


June 9 - Canada (Circuit Gilles Villeneuve)


June 30 - Britain (Silverstone)


July 7 - German (Nurburgring)


July 28 - Hungary (Hungaroring)


August 25 - Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)


September 8 - Italy (Monza)


September 22 - Singapore (Marina Bay Street Circuit)


October 6 - Korea (Korean International Circuit)


October 13 - Japan (Suzuka)


October 27 - India (Buddh International Circuit)


November 3 - Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina Circuit)


November 17 - United States (Circuit of the Americas)


November 24 - Brazil (Interlagos)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport