Friday 19 January 2018

DCU take cup in style

DCU 2-17 NUI Maynooth 0-7

JOHN FALLON Sigerson Cup

DCU won their third Sigerson Cup title when they shot the biggest winning margin in a final for over 40 years at Pearse Stadium yesterday. Niall Moyna's star-studded side were always in control as Dublin duo Paul Flynn and Eoghan O'Gara led the way.

DCU led 0-6 to 0-4 at the interval having played against the strong breeze at the Salthill venue. Remarkably, all bar a point of DCU's total came from play and they could afford to leave Donegal's Michael Murphy and Sligo's David Kelly on the bench until the second half.

Dean Rock and David Keenan were also to the fore as DCU opened up a 0-5 to 0-1 lead after 14 minutes with some superb points.

Maynooth rallied before the break and Mickey Newman, David Dalton and David Quinn gave them hope. But that disappeared inside four minutes of the restart as points from O'Gara and Kelly were followed by a goal from Flynn.

There was no way back for Maynooth as DCU, winners in 2006 and 2010, picked off superb points from all angles and Kelly fired to the net 12 minutes from time.

Scorers -- DCU: P Flynn 1-3; D Kelly 1-1; D Rock 0-4 (1f); E O'Gara 0-4; D Keenan 0-3; G Sweeney 0-1; M Murphy 0-1. NUI Maynooth: M Newman 0-2 (1f); D Dalton 0-1; D Quinn 0-1; T Moolick 0-1; P Cahillane 0-1, C Berrigan 0-1.

DCU: M Boyle; P McMahon, K Gavin, E Culligan; J McCarthy, J Cooper, N Collins; F O Shea, C Begley; P Flynn, D Rock, D Keenan; J Brady, E O'Gara, A McFadden. Subs: D Kelly for Brady, 30; M Murphy for Keenan, 40; G Sweeney for Rock, 49; R Hennelly for Boyle, 54; F O Curraoin for O'Gara, 57.

NUI Maynooth: S Connolly; D Dalton; K O'Brien, K Lynch; T Moolick, J McDermott, S Denvir; C Berrigan, C Brophy; M Newman, S Hurley, C Mullins; P Cahillane, J Califf, David Quinn (Na Fianna). Subs: S Fahey for Califf, 34; T Johnson for Denvir, 37; David Quinn (Lucan) for Berrigan, 45; W Ryan for Lynch, 48; P O Griofa for Mullins, 52.

O Se's trophy for Fanning

Paidi O Se's football festival on the Dingle peninsula -- now in its 23rd year -- comes to a fitting finale this afternoon with the men's and ladies finals at the Gallarus grounds.

A total of 26 senior, intermediate and junior club teams from Ireland, Northern Ireland and London have been battling it out all weekend, and this afternoon the overall winners will be presented with the Dermot Earley Cup.

Also, Paidi has named a memorial trophy after his close friend, and fellow Kerryman, Aengus Fanning.

"It's called Laoch na Deireadh Seachtaine i gcuimhne Aengus Fanning, which means Player of the Weekend in memory of Aengus," says Paidi, referring to the late editor of the Sunday Independent.

"He was a great character, a great man, and we remained very close over the years. An awful lot of people say in Kerry that Aengus was a very good footballer and would have become a great one, a legend, had he continued his footballing career and not gone into journalism."

Aengus' sons Dion and Stephen will present the award to the best player of the weekend after today's final.

Sunday Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport