Friday 20 September 2019

Ireland's 14-man squad for inaugural Test match against Pakistan is named

Captain William Porterfield. Photo: Sportsfile
Captain William Porterfield. Photo: Sportsfile

Liam Blackburn

Boyd Rankin, Ed Joyce and William Porterfield have all been included in Ireland's 14-man squad for their inaugural Test match against Pakistan later this month.

Head coach Graham Ford's team, which will be led by captain Porterfield, also includes Kevin O'Brien and his brother Niall, and county cricketers Tim Murtagh, Paul Stirling and Gary Wilson.

Rankin is the only player with previous Test experience having represented England in the final match of their 5-0 Ashes series loss to Australia in 2013-14.

The Irish will play their first ever five-day match against Pakistan in a one-off contest at Malahide Cricket Club which begins on May 11.

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Ed Joyce, Tyrone Kane, Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Boyd Rankin, Nathan Smith, Paul Stirling, James Shannon, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Ireland's fullback dilemma, World Cup bonding and the squad standby list

Also in Sport