Monday 22 January 2018

Katie Taylor's fight goes ahead but Anahi Sanchez vacates belt after missing weight twice

Katie Taylor, left, and Anahi Sanchez after weighing in
Katie Taylor, left, and Anahi Sanchez after weighing in
Katie Taylor during the weigh-in

Sean McGoldrick

Katie Taylor's world title fight goes ahead as scheduled in Cardiff tomorrow night, even though the defending title holder Anahi Esther Sanchez failed on two occasions to make the 9st 9lb weight limit.

As a result of failing to make the weight, Sanchez now automatically forfeits her world title.

However, according to WBA rules, in the event of Taylor beating the Argentine fighter, the Irish Olympic champion will be crowned the new champion.

A statement issued by fight promoters Matchroom said: "Anahi Sanchez failed to make the weight when she returned to the scales.

Anahi Sanchez weighs in
Anahi Sanchez weighs in

"The two teams have agreed that the fight will go ahead, the WBA World Lightweight title is now vacant and only Katie can win the belt tomorrow night."

More follows...

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport