Saturday 17 August 2019

'I'm heartbroken about last night' - Jamie Conlan on IBF world title loss

Referee Steve GRay stops the fight between Jamie Conlan and Jerwin Ancajas during their IBF World super flyweight Title bout at the SSE Arena in Belfast. (Photo By Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)
Referee Steve GRay stops the fight between Jamie Conlan and Jerwin Ancajas during their IBF World super flyweight Title bout at the SSE Arena in Belfast. (Photo By Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Jack O'Toole & Sean McGoldrick

Belfast boxer Jamie Conlan said that he was heartbroken by his IBF super-flyweight title loss to Jerwin Ancajas on Saturday.

Conlan was stopped by the Philippine fighter in the sixth round at the SSE Arena in Belfast as the fighter affectionately known as 'The Irish Gatti' suffered the first loss of his professional career in what was also his first world title fight.

"Heartbroken about last night, really tough night at the office," wrote Conlan in a post on his official Twitter account.

"Ancajas was a quality operator. Real privilege to be involved in such a great night of boxing, atmosphere was special, very thankful for the support from everyone especially my family and team."

Ancajas silenced the hostile crowd in the SSE Arena with a wonderful display, which 31-year-old Conlan could not cope with.

He had a nightmare start, being forced to take a count midway through the first round, when he appeared to suffer a delayed reaction to a shot. As is his wont, Conlan picked up a cut on his left eyebrow in the second.

The bell saved Conlan in the third. He was down again after enduring a barrage of punches from Ancajas and the crowd cajoled him into getting up but the champion went for the kill and caught his opponent on the trap but the bell rescued the challenger.

Caught on the ropes in the fourth Conlan endured another barrage of punches but somehow survived and even landed a couple of his own before he was floored again by a body punch but he bravely got to his feet just as the bell rung.

Conlan had his best round in the fifth though he was caught by a low blow and Ancajas was deducted a point after the referee ruled that the blow which had Conlan on his knees was also low.

The fight finally finished early in the sixth round when Conlan was caught and felled with a looping right hand which landed on the back of Conlan's head. Referee Steve Gray allowed it and again Conlan beat the count but this time the referee decided the brave challenger had taken enough punishment and brought the contest to a halt.

Online Editors

The Throw-In All-Ireland Hurling Final preview: Can Tipp's firepower edge clash with the Cats?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport