Thursday 12 December 2019

Boxing: Dublin date for Katie Taylor return

KATIE TAYLOR will meet Poland's Karolina Graczyk in her first fight back since winning an historic gold medal at the London 2012 Olympics in the Road to Rio 2013 Elite National Championships.

Both women are slated to go head-to-head over four rounds on Finals Night for the Elite Championships at Dublin's Citywest Hotel on February 22.

Taylor, who beat Graczyk in the 2011 EU lightweight final in Poland, has entered to compete in the Elite Championships, which begin at the National Stadium in Dublin on February 8.

However, as of yesterday, no opponent had registered in the world No 1's 60kg category. Eight female boxers have entered directly below and above the 60kg class at 57kg and 64kg.

Taylor's London 2012 team-mates John Joe Nevin, Paddy Barnes, Michael Conlan, Adam Nolan and Darren O'Neill will all be defending their titles at the Road to Rio Elite Championships.

IABA director of boxing development Dominic O'Rourke, who worked closely with the Polish Boxing Federation to set up the Taylor versus Graczyk four-rounder, is eagerly looking forward to the 2013 Elite Championships.

"Where else would you get it? We'll have Olympic, World, European, EU and Irish champions and medallists competing," he said. "That's world-class boxing by any standards."


Wesley just about clung on to claim their first Senior Premier League crown courtesy of Emily Reid and Rachel Coleman's first-half goals, shading High School 2-1 in Grange Road yesterday.

They were indebted, however, to Carolyn Crampton's immense goalkeeping performance as Evie McCullough and Saoirse O'Donoghue created a wealth of chances, but could not find the leveller in a thrilling finish.

All the goals came in the first 19 minutes with Sara Quill creating both Wesley's efforts.

Her thunderbolt was blocked brilliantly by Jenny Long on the line along with the follow-up effort, before Reid nicked it in at the third attempt.

O'Donoghue equalised after a perfectly executed three-on-two move, but Amber Kinlan's neat touch played in Rachel Coleman for a simple finish which proved to be the winner.

Wesley College – C Crampton, H McKay, M Berber, L Haughton, R Allen, A Kinlan, C Samuel, E Reid, R Esmonde, S Foudy, J van der Flier, R Coleman, S Quill, L Hunt, K Armitage, K Telford.

High School – L McCann, Z Reichantal, E McCullough, K Barlow, L Rankin, S Fox, A Long, E Conheady, H Carrim, L Barlow, S O'Donoghue, J Long, E Murphy, J Stewart, S McManus.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: John Cooney on Ulster's European run and bouncing back from World Cup disappointment

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport