Monday 17 June 2019

'B' team gets chance to prove worth


FOUR of the Ireland's 17-strong team for the World Championships in Daegu later this month have been selected despite having only achieved the 'B' qualifying standard.

As things stand, the Olympic Council of Ireland are insisting that only those who have attained the 'A' standard will be selected for the Olympic Games in London next year.

However, athletics officials are happy that they have made the right decision and are hoping that the 'B' qualifiers will prove their worth in Daegu and add strength to the argument that those without the 'A' standard should be considered for London.

The four selected on the basis of their 'B' standard performances are Jason Smyth (100m), Deirdre Ryan (high jump), Tori Pena (pole vault) and 400m record holder Joanne Cuddihy (pictured below), who is also a member of the 4x400m relay squad.

Paul Hession (200m), Ciaran O Lionaird (1500m), Alistair Cragg (5,000m), Robert Heffernan (20 and 50km walks), Colin Griffin (50km walk), Derval O'Rourke (100m hurdles), Fionnuala Britton and Stephanie Reilly (3,000m steeplechase) and Olive Loughnane (20km walk) have all attained the 'A' standard, while the team is completed by the women's 4x400m relay squad, which achieved the standard at last year's European Championships.


Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Galway deliver when needed, the rise of Leinster hurling and Mickey Harte’s dilemma

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport