| 7°C Dublin

Aidan O'Brien's numbers game

0 net gain/loss of Group Ones following stewards' enquiries. Ciro was awarded the Grand Criterium in 1999 and Powerscourt was stripped of the Arlington Million in 2004 after coming off a straight line under Jamie Spencer. He won the race under Kieren Fallon in 2005.

9 the record number of successive Irish Classics that O'Brien accumulated up to Mastercraftsman's 2,000 Guineas triumph in 2009.

50 the percentage of the trainer's 14 American Group One victories achieved in 2011.

10 years since the Epsom Derby last went to Ballydoyle, Johnny Murtagh driving High Chaparral home from his more fancied stable-mate Hawk Wing in 2002.

23 most Group Ones O'Brien has recorded in a year, doing so in both in 2001 and 2008. The record is Bobby Frankel's 25.

3 his worst Group One return in a 12-month period, coming in 2004, which coincided with Jamie Spencer's brief tenure as first jockey.

10 times he has trained the first three home in a Group One.

6 countries in which he has trained Group One winners.

2 Breeders' Cup Turfs won by High Chaparral, the second a dead-heat with Johar at Santa Anita in 2003.

21 Group One winners that have returned a double-figure SP.

33/1 the SP returned on both Astronomer Royal in the French 2,000 Guineas in 2007 and Beethoven in the 2009 Dewhurst, which is the longest price about any of his Group One haul.

1/7 So You Think's SP in the Tattersalls Gold Cup last year, the skimpiest odds ever returned on an O'Brien Group One winner.

27 Irish Classics, the same as Vincent O'Brien's record tally, and 10 more than he has so far acquired in England, an overall tally that equals his predecessor's 44.

5 Group One triumphs at the Breeders' Cup.

9 record number of Irish Derbies annexed.

18 different jockeys to have partnered an O'Brien-trained horse to Group One victory.

5 current English Group Ones that he has yet to win -- the Falmouth, King's Stand, Sprint Cup, Cheveley Park and Champion Stakes.

17Number of top-level Royal Ascot winners.

1 Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe, courtesy of Dylan Thomas in 2007.

7 most Group Ones accumulated by a horse in O'Brien's care, Rock Of Gibraltar and Yeats both topping the pile.

13 Septimus' winning margin in the 2008 Irish St Leger, the most comprehensive of all the Group One victories.

Irish Independent