Tuesday 24 April 2018

Munster makes seven changes for clash with Glasgow Warriors

James Coughlan
James Coughlan

Munster have made seven changes from their impressive Heineken Cup quarter-final victory over Toulouse for the visit of the Glasgow Warriors to Thomond Park tomorrow evening (kick-off 6.30pm).

James Coughlan will assume the captain's armband from the injured Peter O'Mahony who has been ruled out for the rest of the season.

Speaking after training yesterday, Head Coach Rob Penney spoke of the importance of squad captain O'Mahony's involvement for the remainder of the season, "Peter has an important role still to play, he'll do some analysis for us and he'll be supporting the group in behind the scenes with us coaches and the players, helping prepare for the games ahead.

"I spoke to him following the surgery and he was in a buoyant enough mood given the disappointment of the news. Peter is a pragmatic type person so he's approaching it with a real view of getting himself right for the long term. The surgeon said it was a great success, they had to do a little bit more than they thought, so hopefully now he can start into his rehab.

"I wouldn't want to put a time on his return but it will be a protracted length of time and the key now is that he rehabs it well and doesn't try to fix it too early."

BJ Botha is the only front row member to remain in situ, and will pack down alongside Duncan Casey at hooker and John Ryan at loose head.

Paul O'Connell is rested this week so Munster's most capped player Donncha O'Callaghan joins Dave Foley in the second row to win cap number 247.

Following on from his man of the match display against Toulouse, CJ Stander starts this week, Sean Dougall returns at open-side, with Captain James Coughlan completing the back row at 8.

This week JJ Hanrahan joins Murray in the half back partnership while the back line sees Keith Earls move to outside centre in the absence of Casey Laulala who continues to recuperate after sustaining a fractured bone in his right hand against Toulouse.

Gerhard van den Heever takes Earls' position on the wing, the South African flyer hoping to add to his tally of two tries in six matches in the RaboDirect PRO12.

Munster: (15-9) Felix Jones, Gerhard van den Heever, Keith Earls, James Downey, Simon Zebo, JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; (1-8) John Ryan, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Donncha O'Callaghan, Dave Foley, CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan Capt.

Replacements: (16-23) Quentin MacDonald, Dave Kilcoyne, Alan Cotter, Billy Holland, Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Johne Murphy.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport