Thursday 22 March 2018

Martin O'Neill trims Republic of Ireland squad for final Euro 2016 qualifiers

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill now has a 27-man squad
Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill now has a 27-man squad

Republic of Ireland boss Martin O'Neill has reduced his squad for the crucial Euro 2016 qualifiers against Germany and Poland.

The initial 40-man party has been cut to 27 with Ciaran Clark, Stephen Quinn and Harry Arter missing out through injury, while Marc Wilson will remain at Stoke for treatment on a calf problem before being assessed by Ireland's medical staff.

Bournemouth midfielder Eunan O'Kane and Brentford counterpart Alan Judge have been included as uncapped players, but there is no place for Everton's Darron Gibson as he continues his recovery from a knee injury suffered in pre-season.

O'Neill's men face Group D leaders Germany at the Aviva Stadium on October 8 and Poland in Warsaw three days later knowing they may need to win one of the games to secure third place ahead of Scotland.

Squad: David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Stoke), Darren Randolph (West Ham), Richard Keogh (Derby), Marc Wilson (Stoke), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby), John O'Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Derby), Paul McShane (Reading), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Robbie Brady (Norwich), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), Eunan O'Kane (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (West Brom), Alan Judge (Brentford), David Meyler (Hull), Jonathan Walters (Stoke), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), David McGoldrick (Ipswich).

Press Association

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport