Thursday 5 December 2019

Manchester United players miss out on PFA Team of the Year for first time since 1990

Simon Rice

Had this season's PFA Team of the Year included a Manchester United player it would have been a shock, but the absence of any representative from Old Trafford still signifies just how far the club has fallen this term.

It is the first time that not a single Manchester United player has been included in the team since 1990.

That year United were struggling under Sir Alex Ferguson and Liverpool were claiming what would be their most recent league title. Four from Anfield, Alan Hansen, Steve McMahon, John Barnes and Peter Beardsley were included in the side that year.

The parallels between 1990 and this season are confirmed by the inclusion of three Liverpool players in the latest side - Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge and Steven Gerrard.

That the run of 23 consecutive seasons with a representative in the team came to an end just a year after there were four players included - David de Gea, Rio Ferdinand, Michael Carrick and Robin van Persie were picked last term - only helps reflect the dramatic dip in form following the retirement of SAlex Ferguson.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Online Editors

The Left Wing: The problem with the Champions Cup, the Stephen Larkham effect and trouble in Welsh rugby

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport