Monday 20 November 2017

Leinster v Ulster team news: Sean O'Brien returns for the Blues as Mark Anscombe rings the changes

Sean O'Brien
Sean O'Brien

Tullow Tank Sean O'Brien has been selected by Matt O'Connor as part of six changes to his starting XV for Ulster's visit to the RDS tomorrow evening (kick-off 6.45pm).

Jimmy Gopperth replaces Ian Madigan at flyhalf while Dave Kearney , Sean O'Brien and Mike McCarthy also come into the side.

Brendan Macken comes into the team to take his place in the centre beside Noel Reid who retains his place at 12, while Rhys Ruddock replaces Kevin McLaughlin.

Zane Kirchner continues at full back, with Luke Fitzgerald and Isaac Boss also retained at 11 and 9 respectively.

There are no changes in the front row with Michael Bent, Aaron Dundon and Martin Moore once again selected. Leo Cullen captains the side from the second row with Mike McCarthy partnering him.

Finally, Jordi Murphy is again named at 8 with Rhys Ruddock and Sean O'Brien completing the back row. O'Brien makes a welcome return from injury and comes in for only his second RaboDirect PRO12 appearance of the season.

Leinster team to play Ulster: (15-9) Z Kirchner, D Kearney, B Macken, N Reid, L Fitzgerald, J Gopperth, I Boss; (1-8) M Bent, A Dundon, M Moore, L Cullen (captain), M McCarthy, R Ruddock, S O'Brien, J Murphy.

Replacements: (16-23) J Tracy, M Ross, J O'Connell, T Denton, D Ryan, L McGrath, I Madigan, D Fanning.

Ulster coach Mark Anscombe has made nine changes to his team for tomorrow night's interprovincial clash with leinster at the RDS from the side that beat Zebre last week.

Six of the seven starting backs are Ireland internationals, with Paul Marshall partnering Paddy Jackson in the half backs, Luke Marshall and Darren Cave starting in midfield and Andrew Trimble and Craig Gilroy selected on the wings.

Ricky Andrew, who played against Zebre at Ravenhill, keeps his place at fullback.

Callum Black makes his 50th appearance for the Province and starts at loosehead, with Rob Herring coming in at hooker and Declan Fitzpatrick selected at tighthead.

Lewis Stevenson wears the number four jersey, with Dan Tuohy returning to the second row alongside him.

Robbie Diack is named as captain for the game and moves to blindside, with Sean Doyle continuing at openside and Roger Wilson, who has recovered from injury, coming back in at Number 8.

Tom Court, Ruan Pienaar and Jared Payne are named as substitutes alongside Niall Annett, Ricky Lutton, Neil McComb, Mike McComish and Michael Allen.

Ulster team to face Leinster: (15-9) R Andrew, A Trimble, D Cave, L Marshall, C Gilroy, P Jackson, P Marshall; (1-8): C Black, R Herring, D Fitzpatrick, L Stevenson, D Tuohy, R Diack (Captain), S Doyle, R Wilson.

Replacements: (16-23): N Annett, T Court, R Lutton, N McComb, M McComish, R Pienaar, J Payne, M Allen.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport