Sunday 17 December 2017

Ireland drawn in daunting group for 2015 Cricket World Cup

Niall O'Brien will hope to be involved in 2015
Niall O'Brien will hope to be involved in 2015

Ireland have been drawn in a very difficult Group containing reigning world champions India for the 2015 Cricket World Cup

Ireland have been drawn with South Africa, defending champions India, Pakistan, the West Indies, Zimbabweand a qualifier in Pool B.

England have been drawn in Group A along with Australia for the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and two qualifying nations will join the Ashes rivals in Pool A of the 14-team tournament.

England and Australia will meet on the opening day of the competition at Melbourne on February 14.

Ireland, who must face each of the teams in their group, will begin their Group campaign against the West Indies on February 16 and finish against Pakistan on March 15.

The top four countries in each group will advance to the quarter-finals.

Adelaide, Auckland, Brisbane, Canberra, Christchurch, Dunedin, Napier, Nelson, Hamilton, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wellington were confirmed as host cities at today's official launch.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: "The ICC Cricket World Cup is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game.

"The 2015 tournament will mark 40 years since the first World Cup in 1975 and that history of great contests and heroes helps make the tournament what it is - the most sought after prize in our increasingly global game.

"The World Cup will be returning to Australia and New Zealand after 23 years and will be staged at the back of two outstanding 50-over ICC events - the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

"I'm absolutely confident that the success of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will further strengthen the status of 50-over cricket as a successful and viable format alongside Tests and Twenty20 Internationals."

Australia Prime Minister Kevin Rudd added: "This is one of the biggest events in world sport.

"It will attract cricket fans from around the globe and also promote Australia and our close friend New Zealand internationally - especially in India and other parts of south Asia."

Holders India will launch their defence against rivals Pakistan in Adelaide on February 15.

Ticket prices for the tournament are not due to be announced until later in the year.


Fixtures for the cricket World Cup that will be jointly held by Australia and New Zealand from Feb. 14-March 29, 2015:


Feb 14 Sri Lanka v New Zealand, Christchurch, England v Australia, Melbourne

Feb 15 South Africa v Zimbabwe, Hamilton, India v Pakistan, Adelaide

Feb 16 West Indies v Ireland, Nelson

Feb 17 New Zealand v Qualifier 3, Dunedin

Feb 18 Bangladesh v Qualifier 2, Canberra

Feb 19 Zimbabwe v Qualifier 4, Nelson

Feb 20 England v New Zealand, Wellington

Feb 21 Pakistan v West Indies, Christchurch, Australia v Bangladesh, Brisbane

Feb 22 Sri Lanka v Qualifier 2, Dunedin, South Africa v India, Melbourne

Feb 23 England v Qualifier 3, Christchurch

Feb 24 West Indies v Zimbabwe, Canberra

Feb 25 Ireland v Qualifier 4, Brisbane

Feb 26 Qualifier 2 v Qualifier 3, Dunedin, Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, Melbourne

Feb 27 South Africa v West Indies, Sydney

Feb 28 Australia v New Zealand, Auckland, India v Qualifier 4, Perth

March 1 England v Sri Lanka, Wellington, Pakistan v Zimbabwe, Brisbane

March 3 South Africa v Ireland, Canberra

March 4 Pakistan v Qualifier 4, Napier, Australia v Qualifier 2, Perth

March 5 Bangladesh v Qualifier 3, Nelson

March 6 India v West Indies, Perth

March 7 South Africa v Pakistan, Auckland, Zimbabwe v Ireland, Hobart

March 8 New Zealand v Qualifier 2, Napier, Australia v Sri Lanka, Sydney

March 9 England v Bangladesh, Adelaide

March 10 India v Ireland, Hamilton

March 11 Sri Lanka v Qualifer 3, Hobart

March 12 South Africa v Qualifier 4, Wellington

March 13 Bangladesh v New Zealand, Hamilton, England v Qualifier 2, Sydney

March 14 India v Zimbabwe, Auckland, Australia v Qualifier 3, Hobart

March 15 West Indies v Qualifier 4, Napier, Pakistan v Ireland, Adelaide

March 18 Quarter-final 1, Sydney

March 19 Quarter-final 2, Melbourne

March 20 Quarter-final 3, Adelaide

March 21 Quarter-final 4, Wellington

March 24 Semi-final 1, Auckland

March 25 Semi-final 2, Sydney

 March 29 Final, Melbourne

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport