| 10.7°C Dublin

Williams keeps Dubs firing

GRAHAM Williams' 52nd-minute goal helped Dublin North to see off brave Westmeath Colleges in this lively encounter at DCU yesterday.

The Lake County side shot six unanswered points from Kieran Glennon (3), Dylan O'Regan, Dan Kelliher and David Fennell on their way to a surprise 0-8 to 0-4 lead at half-time.

Four Paul Winters frees levelled it up but Westmeath regained the lead through John Boyle. Williams' excellent finish and a brace of points from Winters clinched it for the home side.

SCORERS -- Dublin North: P Winters 0-7 (6f), G Williams 1-0, C Kilkenny (1f), S Boland, C McHugh 0-1 each. Westmeath Colleges: K Glennon 0-4 (3f), R Greville 0-2f, D Kelliher (1f), D Fennell, J Boyle, D O'Regan 0-1 each.

Dublin North -- C Ryan; O McCabe, R Mullins, M O'Dea; J Curley, E O Chonghaile, C Prunty; S Boland, C McHugh; P Winters, E Quinn, D Forde; A Rooney, C Kilkenny, G Williams. Subs: S Deignan for Quinn (49), D Flaherty for Curley (50).

Westmeath -- C Duggan; T Gallagher, M Glennon, L Varley; E McCabe, D Kelliher, D O'Keefe; D Fennell, G Greville; R Greville, J Boyle, K Glennon; D O'Regan, D McCormack, C Morrison. Subs: L Gavin for Morrison (43), S Murtagh for O'Regan (58).

DUBLIN South dominated Carlow Schools at Pairc Ui Bhriain. They led 1-7 to 0-4 at the break after Kevin Ward got the goal. Dublin South added 0-7 in the second half and now meet St Kieran's in the quarter-final.

Scorers -- Dublin South: B McCarthy 0-5 (4f), N Greene 0-3, K Ward 1-0, K Russell, K McMahon, R McGowan 0-2 each. Carlow Schools: C Wall 0-4 (4f), D Galwey 0-1.

Dublin South -- G Harrington; D Mulligan, F O'Donoghue, J Barnes; D Butler, T Devlin, B Errity; G Whelan, B McCarthy; K Ward, K McMahon, R McGowan; N Greene , S Harrington, K Russell. Subs: C Devins for McGowan (46), K Kelly for Ward (51), E Prendergast for Russell (52), D Byrne for Errity (55), P Maken for Butler (55).

Carlow -- M Lawlor; J Byrne, P Doyle, D Kennedy; S Murphy, D Galwey, C Dunbar; P Ahern, C Wall; R Byrne, D Dalton, P Fortune; A Gleeson, C Dermody, C O'Toole. Subs: S Wogan for Gleeson (ht), J Shaw for Dermody (45), K Brennan for Byrne (45), J O'Keeffe for O'Toole (49), J Nolan for Dalton (55).

Irish Independent