Wednesday 13 December 2017

WATERFORD: Flynn's late magic keeps Gunners firing

Ecstasy . . . Ballygunner's Fergal Hartley (6) and Shane O'Sullivan celebrate yesterday's win over De La Salle
Ecstasy . . . Ballygunner's Fergal Hartley (6) and Shane O'Sullivan celebrate yesterday's win over De La Salle

BALLYGUNNER 2-10 DE LA SALLE 1-12 Waterford SHC Final WATERFORD county star Paul Flynn was Ballygunner's decisive hero in yesterday's Senior Hurling Championship final as his side eked out a one-point victory over a gallant DLS outfit at Welsh Park.

Flynn produced a piece of magic when scoring what proved to be the winning score with less than three minutes remaining in the county showpiece.

DLS, rank outsiders going into the game, went in at the half-time break all square after a fortuitous goal from county star Brian Phelan kept his side in the contest despite struggling to deal with Gunners' domination for long periods of the first half.

They looked to be in control with a ninth-minute goal from 'man of the match' Tommy Power, but DLS forward James Quirke kept his side in touch with some excellent points from placed balls.

The eventual winners netted again after 20 minutes, when Gearoid O'Connor found his way past the DLS 'keeper Stephen Brennar. But a goal from Brian Phelan and a pointed free from Quirke, had them in front for the first time before Ballygunner midfielder Colin Kehoe levelled before the sound of the half-time whistle.

The heavy rain and driving wind made conditions difficult in the second period and scores were few and far between. Both sides traded fine points and when John Mullane levelled the contest with six minutes remaining, a replay looked on.

However, Flynn popped up to score the crucial winning point in the dying seconds to claim his side's 10th county hurling title and book their place in this year's Munster Club Championships.

SCORERS - Ballygunner: T Power (1-4), G O'Connor (1-2), P Flynn (0-2), P Foley, Colin Kehoe 0-1) each. DLS: J Quirke (0-9), B Phelan (1-0), C Watt (0-1), K Moran (0-1), J Milan (0-1).

BALLYGUNNER - P Haran, N O'Donald, W Kielo, R O'Sullivan, W Hutchinson, F Hartley, A Kirwan, C Kehoe, S O'Sullivan, B O'Sullivan, A Moloney, P Foley, T Power, P Flynn, G O'Connor.

DLS - S Brennar, A Kelly, I Flynn, M Doherty, D Russell, B Phelan, C Watt, P Nevin, K Moran, J Milan, B Farrell, L Lawlor, A Ryan, J Quirke, D McGrath.

REF - M Wadding (Roanmoae).

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport