Monday 23 October 2017

Walsh the inspiration as Waterford stunned

University of Limerick 1-11 Waterford 0-10

New Waterford hurling manager Derek McGrath
New Waterford hurling manager Derek McGrath

New Waterford manager Derek McGrath got his reign got off to a very poor start as his side were humbled by University of Limerick in the Waterford Crystal Cup at the WIT Sports Campus.

The star of the show for UL was team captain Padraig Walsh, a brother of Kilkenny star Tommy, whose determination and hard work summed up his side's attitude on the day.

Playing with the strong wind in the first half, Waterford struggled to get the required scores and some of their misses were extraordinary.

Points from Kevin Moran, Jamie Nagle and Maurice Shanahan did have them leading by 0-3 to 0-2 after the first quarter, but with substitute Tommy Heffernan proving to be an able freetaker, UL stayed in touch and Waterford were thankful to be going into the break with a two-point lead, 0-6 to 0-4.

The game's decisive score came four minutes after the break. A long ball was delivered into the Waterford goalmouth by Brian Stapleton and flicked into the net by big full-forward Jonathon Glynn.

Further scores from Heffernan (2), Walsh and Stapleton helped UL to a lead of 1-8 to 0-6 by the end of the third quarter.

Maurice Shanahan's point from play in the 54th minute was Waterford's first of the half and also their first from play by a forward, but UL killed the game off with points from substitutes Mikey Ryan, Mikey O'Neill and a second from the impressive Stapleton.

SCORERS -- University of Limerick: T Heffernan 0-5f, J Glynn 1-0, B Stapleton 0-2, T O'Brien (1f), P Walsh, M Ryan, M O'Neill 0-1 each. Waterford: M Shanahan 0-6 (5f), S O'Sullivan 0-2, K Moran, J Nagle 0-1 each.

University of Limerick -- S Hassett; M Carmody, J Sheehan, J Browne; D Quinn, D Morrissey, P Walsh; B Maher, T Ryan; C Malone, B Stapleton, T O'Brien; J Forde, J Glynn, E Murphy. Subs: T Heffernan for T O'Brien, M Ryan for E Murphy, M O'Neill for J Forde, P Ryan for D Quinn .

Waterford -- S O'Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, T Bourke; Philip Mahony, M Walsh, K Moran; S O'Sullivan, J Nagle; J Dillon, S Walsh, R Barry; R Donnelly, M Shanahan, J Barron. Subs: S Molumphy for R Barry, I O'Regan for S O'Keeffe, Pauric Mahony for R Donnelly, S Roche for J Barron.

REF -- C McAllister (Cork).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport