| 10.1°C Dublin

Walsh and Shefflin set to enter All Star history books

KILKENNY pair Tommy Walsh and Henry Shefflin are in line to make history after the 2011 Opel GAA/GPA hurling All Star nominations were released yesterday.

Tullaroan man Walsh is set to break Shefflin's record and win a ninth consecutive award, while Shefflin can also make history by winning the 10th All Star of a glittering career. Should he be named in the team again, it would mark him out as the most honoured player in either football or hurling.

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny dominate the list with 14 players among the 45 players named.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Tipperary and league champions Dublin are next on the list with 10 each, while Waterford earned six nominations.

The five monthly award winners were also named, with Conal Keaney (May), Padraic Maher (June), Lar Corbett (July), Michael Fennelly (August) and Tommy Walsh (September) picking up the gongs.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Convention Centre in Dublin on Friday, October 21 with the football nominations due to be released early next week.


Goalkeeper: Gary Maguire (Dublin), David Herity (Kilkenny), Brendan Cummins (Tipperary).

Full-backs: Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Niall Corcoran (Dublin), Paul Curran (Tipperary), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny), Michael Cahill (Tipperary), Tom Condon (Limerick), David Collins (Galway), Noel Hickey (Kilkenny).

Half-backs: Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Brian Hogan (Kilkenny), Joey Boland (Dublin), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Conor O'Mahony (Tipperary), Shane Durkan (Dublin), Tony Browne (Waterford).

Midfielders: Donal O'Grady (Limerick), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Gearóid Ryan (Tipperary), Johnny McCaffrey (Dublin).

Half-forwards: Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Ryan O'Dwyer (Dublin), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Michael Rice (Kilkenny), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Pauric Mahony (Waterford).

Full-forwards: Lar Corbett (Tipperary), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Paul Ryan (Dublin), Shane Walsh (Waterford), John Mullane (Waterford), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Eoin Kelly (Tipperary), Joe Canning (Galway).

Irish Independent