| 7°C Dublin

Veteran Coady leads St Mullins to glory

Veteran Pat Coady fired over 10 points as St Mullins dethroned Mount Leinster Rangers to secure a record 23rd county title at Dr Cullen Park yesterday.

St Mullins were ahead within 10 seconds of the throw-in when captain Patrick Walsh pointed from play and they led 0-8 to 0-6 at half-time.

In the 34th minute, Paudie Kehoe crashed home the game's only goal, and with Coady's frees keeping the scoreboard ticking over, there was no way back for the holders.

Scorers -- St Mullins: P Coady 0-10 (0-7f, 0-2 '65'), P Kehoe 1-1, P Walsh 0-1. Mt Leinster Rangers: P Coady 0-7 (0-7f), R Coady 0-2 (0-1f, 0-1 '65'), E Coady, J Coady , S M Murphy 0-1 each.

St Mullins -- M Ryan; M Nolan, J Doran, M Kehoe; D Whelan, T Doyle, Paul Kehoe; J Kavanagh, J Murphy; D Murphy, P Coady, P Walsh; C Doyle, S Murphy, Paudie Kehoe. Subs: S Gahan for C Doyle h-t, C Ryan for P Kehoe 55, K Kehoe for Walsh 60.

Mt Leinster Rangers: G McKeever; P Nolan, G Doyle, G Kelly; E Coady, R Coady, R. Kelly; J Hickey, D Byrne; J Coady, E Byrne, D Phelan, H P O'Byrne, W Hickey, P Coady. Subs: S M Murphy for O'Byrne 37, K Lawlor for R Kelly 45.

REF -- P Kehoe (Rathvilly).

Irish Independent