| 2.8°C Dublin

Upsetting hurling's old order

The increased spread -- some new club hurling champions in the last five years.


Cratloe won a first county title in 2009, Crusheen managed a similar feat in '10.


Ballyboden St Enda's won a first senior championship in 2007. They have since gone on to win four in a row.


Although Rathdowney had won 18 titles (last won in 1941), Rathdowney-Errill won their first county title in 2006. They have added two more titles since.


Bruree won a first county title under their own name in 2006.


Although St Stephen's De La Salle won county titles in 1913 and 1914, De La Salle won their first county title in 2008. They won their second in 2010. They have also won two Munster club titles and play in tomorrow afternoon's All-Ireland semi-final, when they take on Clarinbridge.

Irish Independent