| 15.2°C Dublin

U-21 hurlers get new All Stars incentive

AN ALL STAR team will be selected from this year's Bord Gais Energy All-Ireland U-21 hurling championship, which starts with the Munster quarter-final between Tipperary and Limerick in Thurles tomorrow.

It will be one of 10 live games covered by TG4, including defending champions Clare against Waterford on July 18 and the All-Ireland final on September 14.

The Irish language station will also carry live coverage of the U-21 player and team of the year awards in October.

Wexford and Westmeath meet in the first game of the Leinster U-21 hurling championship, while Laois will take on Offaly next Wednesday. The Leinster final will be played on July 10, whereas the Munster decider does not come around until August 7.

Bord Gais have just signed up to continue their sponsorship to 2015, and the inaugural U-21 hurling Team of the Year will be selected by a judging panel made up of Cork selector Ger Cunningham, former Waterford star Ken McGrath, Galway's Joe Canning and Michael O Domhnaill of TG4.

Irish Independent