| 10.7°C Dublin

Tribesmen go on rampage against poor Offaly

GALWAY went goal-crazy as they booked their place in the Leinster SHC semi-final at Portlaoise.

Anthony Cunningham’s side had the game wrapped up by the interval as they had opened up a 4-11 to 1-10 lead by the short whistle.

The Tribesmen enjoyed a dream start when Conor Cooney found the back of the Offaly net twice in the space of a minute.

Shane Dooley raised a green flag for Offaly in reply after he capitalised on a James Skehill mistake before David Burke grabbed Galway’s third goal.

Offaly were shipping water at this stage but Ollie Baker’s side produced a spirited response with five unanswered points from Shane Dooley (2), Conor Mahon, corner-back Derek Morkan and Joe Bergin to leave them 1-6 to 3-1 in arrears.

Joe Canning was flourishing in a withdrawn role and while he was forced to wait until the 28th minute for his first score from a free, he would finish with 11 points to his name.

And Galway kept finding the net as David Burke set up Damien Hayes for Anthony Cunningham team's fourth goal on the stroke of half-time.

The second half saw more Galway dominance with Shane Dooley carrying the Offaly fight. He would finish the day with a personal tally of 2-7 but it was to no avail as the Faithful were dispatched to the Qualifiers when Davy Glennon got his side’s fifth and final goal.

Galway face the winners of next Saturday’s clash between Dublin and Kilkenny in what will be their second Leinster final appearance since they joined the eastern championship.

Galway - J. Skehill; N. Donohue, K. Hynes, F. Moore; J. Cooney, T. Óg Regan, J. Coen; I. Tannian (0-2), A. Smith; D. Burke (1-1), N. Burke (0-1), C. Donnellan (0-3); D. Hayes (1-3), J. Canning (0-11), C. Cooney (2-0). Subs - P. Gordon, J. Glynn, J Regan (0-1), T. Haran (0-1), D. Glennon (1-0).

Offaly - J. Dempsey; D. Morkan (0-1), D. Kenny, D. Franks; D. Horan, R. Hannify, J. Rigney; C. Mahon (0-2), K. Brady; J. Bergin (0-2), C. Egan (0-2), B. Murphy (0-1); S. Dooley (2-7), C. Parlon, B. Carroll. Sub - D. Molloy (1-0), C. McDonald, S. Ryan, C. Hernon.