Sport Hurling

Friday 23 February 2018

Thurles dance to the tune of Lanigan's ball-striking to make last four

Thurles CBS 2-23 Castletroy CC 2-12 Jackie Cahill Dr Harty Cup (Munster cols SH)

Thurles CBS crushed Castletroy in the remaining quarter-final at Sean Treacy Park in Tipperary Town to set up a mouth-watering last-four clash with holders Dungarvan Colleges.

The 2009 champions produced a fine wind-assisted second half display to see off their Limerick opponents' spirited challenge.

Conor Lanigan scored 0-9, including four from play, and fellow 2012 All-Ireland minor medallist Stephen Cahill was the driving force at midfield as nine Thurles players got on the scoresheet.

Eoin Moriarty's first-half switch from full-forward to midfield also paid rich dividends as the Emeralds (Kilkenny) player hoovered a huge amount of ball around the middle third.

And when Moriarty returned to full-forward for the second half, he crowned a hard-working display with a haul of 1-1.

A run of five unanswered points before half-time proved crucial for Thurles, who could easily have trailed at the break instead of holding a 0-11 to 0-10 lead.


Castletroy, with the breeze at their backs, played with huge intensity in the first half and were 0-9 to 0-6 in front when they were awarded a 26th-minute penalty.

Towering full-back Michael Breen's effort was well-struck, but Thurles corner-back Robert Larkin's save was one that any top goalkeeper would be proud of as he somehow diverted the sliotar behind for a '65'. Castletroy's leading scorer Stephen Power converted, but Thurles turned up the heat to establish that one-point lead at the interval.

Thurles kicked on after the break, but the first of Tom Morrissey's two goals hauled Castletroy back to within a point in the 36th minute.

But Thurles responded emphatically five minutes later as Lanigan's brave block on Castletroy defender Paddy Morrissey led to a goal for Kevin Dunne. Thurles added seven of the next nine points to put the result beyond doubt.

Morrissey cracked home a brilliant goal in the 59th minute, but Thurles hit back with a goal from Moriarty.

Scorers – Thurles CBS: C Lanigan 0-9 (5f), K Dunne 1-2, S Cahill 0-4, E Moriarty 1-1, S Ryan, S Nally 0-2 each, R Maher (f), P Russell, C Maher 0-1 each. Castletroy CC: S Power 0-9 (6f, 1 '65'), T Morrissey 2-2, B Nash 0-1.

THURLES CBS – P Maher; R O'Regan, K O'Dwyer, R Larkin; J Lineen, R Maher, B Troy; S Cahill, P Russell; S Ryan, S Nally, K Dunne; C Lanigan, E Moriarty, C Maher. Subs: J Skehan for Russell (47), J Woods for C Maher (52), S Ryan for Dunne (57), R Nally for Cahill (59), C McCullagh for S Nally (60).

CASTLETROY CC – C O'Dwyer; J Porter, M Breen, P Morrissey; L Lyons, A La Touche Cosgrave, P O'Kane; A Hanley, B Nash; E Doyle, T Morrissey, S Power; J Nicholas, S Griffen, J Fox. Subs: D Kennedy for Lyons (h-t), J Stack for O'Kane (47), R Murphy for Nicholas (52).

Ref – D Copps (Cork).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport