| 10.3°C Dublin

Theó hAILPíN years

1995: Wins Munster and All-Ireland minor hurling titles

1996: Makes SHC debut v Limerick

1997: Wins second Munster under-21 hurling title, and then U21 All-Ireland.

1998: Makes it back-to-back U21 titles; wins first National Hurling League.

1999: Wins first NFL title; first Munster senior hurling title; first Munster football title; first All-Ireland senior hurling title; and interpro football title.

2000: Second Munster hurling title.

2001: Smashes kneecap in car crash outside Nenagh.

2002: A key player in first Cork players' strike. Disputes follow in 2007 and '08.

2003: Wins third Munster hurling title and first All Star.

2004: Wins second All-Ireland senior hurling title; second All Star; named Vodafone, GPA and Texaco hurler of the year. Plays in International Rules series.

2005: Cork hurling captain; fourth Munster hurling title and third All-Ireland hurling title. Plays second International Rules series; wins third All Star.

2006: Wins fifth Munster hurling title.

2007: Semplegate sees him suspended for Munster semi-final with Waterford.

2008: Loses All-Ireland semi-final to Kilkenny.

2009: Loses to Galway in quarter-final.

2010: Loses to Kilkenny in All-Ireland semi-final; Meets with Denis Walsh on October 16 and is told he is no longer in the manager's plans.

Sunday Independent