| 18.4°C Dublin

Supreme team gets plaudits

THIRTY of the top GAA players of the last 30 years were presented with the Irish Independent-Eircell Vodafone Supreme All Stars awards at the CityWest Hotel in Dublin last night.

The presentations were made to the players who, according to a panel of judges, represented the best of the All Star winners since the inception of the scheme. It was a night of nostalgia as many of the leading stars of this generation re-lived the great occasions they shared over the years.

Kilkenny's Eddie Keher, chosen at left full-forward on the hurling team, said that the All Star awards were always hugely significant.

"To get another award, based on 30 years of the All Stars, is very special. You could choose several brilliant teams from the list of nominees so those of us who made the final 15s are delighted," he said.


HURLING (1971-2000)

5 Noel Skehan (Kilkenny); Fan Larkin (Kilkenny), Pat Hartigan (Limerick), John Horgan (Cork); Brian Whelahan (Offaly), Ger Henderson (Kilkenny), Anthony Daly (Clare); Frank Cummins (Kilkenny), John Fenton (Cork); Nicky English (Tipperary), Joe Cooney (Galway), DJ Carey (Kilkenny); Charlie McCarthy (Cork), Joe McKenna (Limerick), Eddie Keher (Kilkenny).

FOOTBALL (1971-2000)

John O'Leary (Dublin); Bobby O'Malley (Meath), John O'Keeffe (Kerry), Robbie Kelleher (Dublin); Paidi O Se (Kerry), Tim Kennelly (Kerry), Martin O'Connell (Meath); Brian Mullins (Dublin), Jack O'Shea (Kerry); Peter Canavan (Tyrone), Matt Connor (Offaly), Pat Spillane (Kerry); Mike Sheehy (Kerry), Eoin Liston (Kerry), John Egan (Kerry).

Sport Newsletter

Get the best analysis and comment from our award-winning team of writers and columnists with our free newsletter.

This field is required

Most Watched